• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Already #1 Google Local - What More Is There?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 bobmeetin

bobmeetin

HR 6

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts

Posted 06 January 2010 - 10:18 AM

I sat down across a potential I have been courting for over six months. He goes to his computer, goes to google and enters, "search_phrase city_name". Google local shows and his is the first listing. It takes you to his deplorable, middle-ages, website.

His comment to me, "We're already #1, what more can you do by redeveloping our website?"

Certainly I can give the website a more professional look and appeal. But in so much as it does show highly in Google local, how much more relevant is the need to have it there highly in the organic listings?

#2 copywriter

copywriter

HR 7

• 1,856 posts

Posted 06 January 2010 - 10:29 AM

But that's only one part of it. How are this guy's conversions? Micro and macro.

Yes, he's #1, but are people actually clicking to his site? (micro conversion) Are they then reading the info and clicking from page to page? (micro conversions) Are they contacting the client and using his business? (macro conversion)

If not, he's still got a long way to go. It comes down to this: Is his site making him money or costing him money?

If he's not tracking his performance, he won't have the answers to these questions. You'll want to get him to benchmark his conversions (using Google Analytics or some other decent program) then start making gradual changes so you can track each one. Then go back to him and say:

1. Previous micro conversion from SERP to home page was .001%. After rewriting the title and description tags, it shot up to 5%. (Or whatever)