• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Question About How Search Engines Read

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 carltonrsmith

carltonrsmith

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 13 October 2009 - 10:25 AM

Hi,
I am somewhat new to SEO, so forgive me if this is a 101 question. I'm going through one of our websites and making recommendations to change sub-channel names. Currently, one of our subchannels Title appears as:
British/Irish - Browse All Recipes - Food & Recipes - [Brand Name]

I am researching the keywords, and obviously, it would be smarter to rewrite the titles as British and Irish Recipes, since Irish has 121K global search volume behind it.

My question is, the search engines will still read it as "british+and+irish+recipes," which has NO search volume, correct? So would my best bet be to stick with British/Irish Recipes in the formatting? Am I splitting hairs here?

I suppose my question has more to do with the exact ways that search engines see phrases. Please direct me to any articles or resources as well.

I'm happy to have stumbled onto this forum.

Best,
CS

#2 Jill

Jill

Recovering SEO

• Admin
  • 33,007 posts

Posted 13 October 2009 - 11:19 AM

They see the words/phrases in the exact order you put them in. So you want to use exact phrase matches where ever possible.

#3 Michael-F

Michael-F

HR 3

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 85 posts

Posted 13 October 2009 - 11:31 AM

If someone got to your site with the keyword "Irish," would they have any interest in what you're offering? It seems like the kind of keyword that would bring in the wrong kinds of traffic. You'll want to target phrases that bring in the people who would be interested in what you have to offer.