• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo

Affiliate Link, Urls, Commissions

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 houndog

houndog

HR 3

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 75 posts

Posted 22 September 2009 - 10:50 AM

Hi,
I'm new to creating affiliate programs for website clients, and it seems to be a growing trend. This answer to this question may be really obvious, but somehow it's not clicking for me. Here's the deal:

We created an affiliate program for someone. I'll call them the "affiliate owner"
There are currently 3 affiliate account participants in their program, recommending the product.
The link that the affiliate gets is URL on the affiliate owner's website. So, if the affiliate owner's website is affiliateowner.com, then for each affiliate selling/recommending product for them would be: affilateowner.com/affiliates/thirdpartyaffiliateprogramcompanyname.php?id=1

The id=1 part is what changes for each affiliate.

Of the three affiliates, one so far uses the link in their newsletters, another uses it on their website, and the third has it on their blog, but no clicks have come from it yet.

The one that has it on their website has posted the affiliate product as a product one could buy on the affiliate participant's ecommerce site. Their site has the ability to carry products with inventory, OR show a product that looks like the others, but the link to buy it allows for the affiliate link, and the graphic button that normally says "add to cart" instead says "buy now"