• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo

Volume Of Traffic Has No Effect On Serp Or Outbound Link Power/popular

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 beibei

beibei

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 June 2009 - 10:30 AM

Hello all.

I would like suggest to something which may be seen as controversial (or maybe not – I’m still quite new at this) and I would appreciate any informed responses you can give – as there seems very little about this on the forums:

Volume of traffic has no effect on SERP or Link Power/Popularity/Page Rank.

In theory, 2 identical sites with identical back-links/domain age/keywords etc etc where one had a million visitors a day and the other had none, would both achieve the same SERP / PR.

Counter-Evidence:

It is obvious in most cases that sites with high traffic have high search engine position and a lot of link power. But that in no way means that traffic is playing a part in SERPs or PR. Obviously, a site with a high SERP, or with many relevant, authoritative in-bound links attracts a lot of traffic. The traffic is caused by the SERP / links. The SERP / links are not caused by the traffic.

How could it be done?

If you disagree, the question you should be asking yourself is: How does Google (for example) fairly measure the traffic that goes to a website?

Possible answers:
• By recording the website data from Google analytics.
• By recording the browser data from Google Chrome.
• By recording the browser data collected from the Google tool-bar
• By recording the successful click-throughs from the Google search-engine (be it organic or advertised)