• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo

2 Identical Websites Targeting 2 Different Countries?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 cwar

cwar

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 June 2009 - 05:51 PM

Hi all!

We currently have a uk based website with a .co.uk extension and we want to target the US market.
Our initial plan was to buy a .net (the .com is not available anymore) and actually copy and paste the content of the .co.uk site to the .net one, changing just the essential information
-currency, geo targeted testimonials among other things-.
As an SEO manager, i m perfectly aware of the duplicate content issue and in regards to that, i was wondering what was the best solution according to you.

Thanks. Your answers will for sure be very helpful

Charly

#2 Jill

Jill

Recovering SEO

• Admin
  • 32,961 posts

Posted 23 June 2009 - 08:17 AM

Have you read the pinned threads in this section of the forum which address the geotargeting issues?

#3 pearlcompany

pearlcompany

HR 2

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 27 June 2009 - 09:29 PM

QUOTE(cwar @ Jun 22 2009, 03:51 PM) View Post
Hi all!

We currently have a uk based website with a .co.uk extension and we want to target the US market.
Our initial plan was to buy a .net (the .com is not available anymore) and actually copy and paste the content of the .co.uk site to the .net one, changing just the essential information
-currency, geo targeted testimonials among other things-.
As an SEO manager, i m perfectly aware of the duplicate content issue and in regards to that, i was wondering what was the best solution according to you.

Thanks. Your answers will for sure be very helpful

Charly