• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Some Help With Keyword Research

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 matogl0397

matogl0397

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 June 2009 - 01:53 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm currently working on an SEO campaign for a small, family business. I'm new to the field but I do have some background in web design. The website in question is a wedding planning resource for our local area. As such, the navbar (and respective pages, obviously) includes topics such as "Beauty & Spa," "Bridal Shops & Attire," "Cakes and Catering," etc. When considering each subcategory as a landing page of its own, it becomes obvious that keyphrases such as these are way too broad in scope to serve as effective page keywords. How many Googlers of "beauty and spa" are actually looking for bridal beautification services in our local area, and more importantly, what chance do we have against the sheer volume of pages that might already be optimized for such a general search phrase?

So I'm on my last day now of the Wordtracker free trial. The overall concept of this service seems great, but I find the site itself to be rather unintuitive and difficult to manage. I'm having a TON of trouble trying to find replacement phrases for things like "Beauty & Spa," mentioned above. Sometimes Wordtracker even seems to suggest to me that NOBODY searches for a term like "Bridal Beauty Services," although I find that pill hard to swallow. I've read about other popular keyword research services like Yahoo! Search Marketing (formerly Overture), and I'm thinking about trying that one out.