• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Text Under Search Results

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 scamsel

scamsel

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 June 2009 - 10:54 AM

hi, hope this is not too stupid of a question (i'm a noob).

sometimes the text that appears under a search result in google is text that i cannot find anywhere on the actual page when i click on the result. can anyone explain to me how that text appears in the search result then? is it some kind of meta tag info?

and how would you be able to control what appears under your pages search result? is it typically the first header on your webpage or what?

appreciate any help!

#2 Jill

Jill

Recovering SEO

• Admin
  • 32,987 posts

Posted 03 June 2009 - 11:38 AM

It's likely your DMOZ description.

You'll want to turn it off via the  noodp attribute[/hr]

#3 scamsel

scamsel

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 June 2009 - 12:07 PM

QUOTE(Jill @ Jun 3 2009, 12:38 PM) View Post
It's likely your DMOZ description.

You'll want to turn it off via the  noodp attribute[/hr]

ty for response! i don't know what dmoz is but i googled it and i think i understand now. so i guess my follow up question would be then once you turn off this attribute, how can you determine what text gets displayed with your website's result?

#4 Randy

Randy

Convert Me!

• 17,540 posts

Posted 03 June 2009 - 12:37 PM

how can you determine what text gets displayed with your website's result?

The search engines decide. And it's dependent upon what keyword phrase is used when someone searches.

The Title should normally be whatever is in the <title> tag of the returned page.