• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Nofollow Tag Making Me Dizzy

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Chewla

Chewla

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 May 2009 - 10:41 AM

Hi HRF experts! I've been lurking for some time (reading the newsletter for over a year), and I find the information here to be uniformly helpful. Now I've hit a wall, so I'm coming out of the shadows to ask for your input. Your thoughts are much appreciated!

First, I'm not a coder, but I try to keep up by reading as much as I can about SEO/coding, etc. I am employed as a copywriter, and a lot of our coding is done by a company hundreds of miles away. They seem busy much of the time, and when I asked about this particular meta tag, they sent me a paragraph from Wikipedia about robots.txt, which I didn't find very helpful. I've tried searching the web and these forums in particular, and although lots of questions about nofollow have been answered, I can't find one that references this particular problem. If I've missed it, please redirect me to the appropriate thread!

What I'm wondering is if it is a good idea for our homepage (and nearly every page of our site) to feature the following tags:

<meta name="robots" content="no,follow">
<meta name="googlebot" content="nofollow">

I'm also not clear on what the deal is with the comma between "no" and "follow"....I feel silly for asking--but I couldn't find another example of the use of a comma there. What does it mean?

Thanks so much for humoring a non-coder. I'm looking forward to learning more about this so I can better contribute to these forums!

-Chewla

#2 1dmf

1dmf

Keep Asking, Keep Questioning, Keep Learning

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,167 posts