• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Potential 301 Problem - Duplicate Urls

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Nozmo

Nozmo

HR 2

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 06 May 2009 - 08:28 AM

To begin I am the site owner of <removed>. I am not a programer, but did all the content work on our site. Our updated site went live in Jan 2008. We have a method of converting dynamically generated URLs to what we call Friendly URLs. an example would be www.domain.com/Waterfront Real Estate. Prior to going live in 2008 our old "framed" site did very well in Google, MSN and Yahoo for all of our keywords. The new site has continued to do poorly in Google. We did encounter a problem in the second half of 2008 when we dropped for our primary keyword in Google, that we were being ranked for at position #3 to not in the top 1000. We discovered that our WMT showed all kinds of duplicate URLs - the dynamic ones and the friendly ones. We then created a robots.txt to prohibit crawling of the dynamic URLs. Overtime time the duplicates were removed from the WMT and we reappeared in our high position for the keyword <removed>. We made no improvement, however, in any other keywords in Google - but continued to do well in Y and M. Then last week we again disappeared from G, except for a miss-spelled version of our primary keyword.

This lead me to thinking that perhaps we did not do something correctly last year in creating the robots.tx. Maybe the redirects are not correct? This is what was done at that time:

301 redirect

www.domain.com/Home

www.domain.com/index.php

www.domain.com/PageManager/Default.aspx/PageID=1074819&NF=1

www.domain.com/PageManager/Default.aspx/PageID=1996065&NF=1