• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Backlinks Question

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Kris

Kris

HR 2

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 39 posts

Posted 01 May 2009 - 04:33 AM

Hi all

I am currently learning as much as I can about SEO techniques and I have a question about backlinks to my site.

I build many websites (i'm a web developer for a small web company) and when we build websites, we always include a generic footer on all pages of the websites we build and within that footer is always link back to our homepage of our corporate website. Now, when I look at all the backlinks google has indexed, I can see that many of them are coming from these footers on varied sites and most are deep links from within those sites and google has not ranked the deep linked pages, only the homepage.

My question is this: is it better to keep as many backlinks as possible from these sites, irrelevant of how deep those backlinks are and what the PR is, OR, should I only backlink from the homepage of these sites we build where we can see the PR is 4, 5 or 6 etc?

Many Thanks for reading.

Kris

#2 NASA

NASA

HR 4

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 01 May 2009 - 04:41 AM

A link is a link is a link! and the more the merrier.

Today's PR1 could be tomorrow's PR99.

Plus SE's index pages not sites, so one asumes all G! sees is one page linking to another, it's 'depth' is irrelivant, there is no depth, one page links to another, and the linking page passes what ever PR it has to the links on that page.