• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo

Liability Of Client And Data Protection Act

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 rolf

rolf

HR 6

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts

Posted 16 April 2009 - 11:14 AM

Someone has asked me to make a pretty simple customer database for them.

It seems as though some of the data they want to store may break the Data Protection Act, although I'm no expert on this particular issue. I have told them my concern and they've said that these customers have asked them to store this info for convenience so they don't think it's a problem.

If I build the database as they want, do I have any liability if it turns out they are breaking the DPA? how could I find out if they're breaking the DPA without too much hassle? This is a small job and it doesn't justify hours of research, but obviously I don't want to shoot myself in the foot either.

Thanks in advance.

#2 NASA

NASA

HR 4

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 16 April 2009 - 11:25 AM

The company collecting the data and storing the data, MUST apply for a Data Protection Certificate.

It identifies them as data custodians and that they will adhere the DPA 1984/1998 act and the data priciples.

Your obligations require you to store the data in a safe place, to ensure the acuracy of the data, to make the data avaiablable to the relevant person who the data relates to and allow them to alert you of inaccuracies and changes to the data held.

Just because you wrote the DB system, does not hold you liable for the use of the data nor does it make you in any way liable as data custodian.

That's like saying Smith & Western are responsible / liable for the people that get shot with their guns!