• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Working Around Session Ids

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 jammin' Jake

jammin' Jake

HR 2

• Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 06 April 2009 - 05:32 PM

Hi all - I've been doing SEO for a couple of years now, and have yet to encounter the situation I find myself in.

I am in a new position with a powersports dealer that uses a well know website company (specializing in our industry) to manage our website. This organization creates session IDs for the majority of the pages a visitor visits (not just shopping cart pages). I am well aware of the problems this poses and have spoken several times with the company about removing the session IDs, but they insist that they cannot be removed as they would need to be removed from all of the URLs for all of the other powersports companies they provide web services for and therefore cannot do anything about it.

Ridiculous I know...

So, I'm wondering what you all think about how creating a site map with static URL w/out SIDs would work for getting our pages into the SE indices. Currently very few pages of our site are cached.

I'm considering creating a site map (which I have the ability to do - go figure) and linking to each page of our site as a means of getting the correct URL spidered and indexed. This would be a very large undertaking as links will need to be made for every make and model we carry (probably close to several hundred), but if it gets us indexed, I think it would be worth it.

What do the experts think about this? Anyone had any experiences similar to mine and been able to work around a pesky web provider in a similar manner?

I appreciate any and all responses!

- Jake

#2 Randy

Randy

Convert Me!