• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Took On Pr0 Client-what Was I Thinking?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 team5789

team5789

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 21 March 2009 - 07:24 PM

I am new to SEO and I took on a PR0 client as my first client. The competition averages PR2-3. Their site has been around 1 year and they really did nothing with it. I have gone through the code and made the necessary changes there for their targeted keywords and we are in the process of adding decent content to the home page which previously had only one sentence. My question is to jump start their site (which is not ranked in the top 100 for keyword currently) can I get them in a few of the good directories such as botw, joeant, goguides, etc... Will this help while I am adding content to their site and of course building links for them. If not these directories what else could I do to jump start this site. I am beginning to wonder If I should have turned down a PR0 client. Their domain name does not include they keyword either if that matters.

thanks for any advice. Oh side question: how hard is it to get to a PR2 or PR3. All of the competition is local and uses localized keywords like the name of the town. This is probably simple for most of you guys here on this forum, but I am just starting out.

What would you all suggest? Thanks in advance.

#2 torka

torka

Vintage Babe

• 4,636 posts

Posted 21 March 2009 - 11:49 PM

Suggestion 1: stop paying attention to Toolbar PR. It has nothing to do with rankings.

Suggestion 2: read the [url=http://www.highrankings.com/forum/index.php/topic/833-tips-for-new-seos/]Tips for Newbies[/url] to learn more about stuff that actually matters.

--Torka mf_prop.gif

#3 team5789