• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Link With Image Instead Of Link Phrase - Good Or Bad?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Kris

Kris

HR 2

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 39 posts

Posted 17 March 2009 - 06:00 AM

Hi all

I am a web developer and I am keen to expand my current knowledge of SEO techniques and stumbled across this fantastic website/forum. I have spent approx a day and a half so far reading through different posts which have been really helpful and I now have a question of my own.

With every website I create, I tend to have a small link at the bottom of each web page which is a direct link to my company website homepage, basically advertising my services. Now, the link itself is a small 20px X 20px company logo with no link phrase text, just Title text for the link and Alt text for the image (both of which are the same text i.e. 'designed and developed by 'my company name''.

My question is, would changing these links to include link phrase text be better procedure than displaying an image with Alt text or not?

I have potentially 30-40 websites out there each with links to my site and for that reason wanted to know if I could do anything to improve the link building to my site.

Many Thanks for reading

Regards
Kris

#2 1dmf

1dmf

Keep Asking, Keep Questioning, Keep Learning

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,160 posts

Posted 17 March 2009 - 06:07 AM

Whether the link is an image or text makes no difference, it's always good if you have a page offering 'link to me' code that you offer both types , text & image.