• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Has My Home Page Been Indexed By Google?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 rickibarnes

rickibarnes

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 February 2009 - 01:48 AM

Hi everyone!

I am a web developer working on a site for a client. Said client has engaged another person for SEO purposes, who in the course of his work has looked at my company's website and told me that our home page is not being indexed by Google. So I have been looking into it a bit, and it seems to be a bit of a strange situation, which I will outline now:

1. The SEO consult has determined that our home page is not being indexed by taking a phrase directly from the copy of the home page, and putting it in Google in quotation marks. I have tested this, and true enough, if you do this Google finds no results.
2. If you do a search for copy from other pages of our site (again in quotation marks), as you might expect, Google returns the appropriate page. This is even though according to me, I haven't done anything different on the home page to any of the other pages.
3. Furthermore, if you put our company name into Google with no quotation marks, the first result is our site, and the link it gives is our home page.
4. Even further to that, if you do a in-quotation-marks search for copy from our home page in other search engines, it returns the home page. I have tested this with Yahoo, Dogpile and Exalead (I only ever use Google so I'm not sure which other ones are useful/popular).