• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Add Alt Tag To Image Based Link And Make It "anchor Text"?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 anne999

anne999

HR 2

• Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 19 January 2009 - 12:59 PM

First, I'll just say that I'm a newbie at this, so I hope I aske the question clearly. The internal links between my site pages are based on images (for example, the "About Us" page includes the image AboutUs.jpg) when I review the source code on the landing page for linking to the About page. If I add an ALT tag to each of the images for the respective page links, will the link be considered anchor text? In other words, if I add an ALT tag "Toronto car sales" to the AboutUs.jpg image, will "Toronto car sales" be considered the link anchor text? The About Us page is optimized for Toronto car sales and contains "Toronto car sales" as the title in h1.

Thanks,
Anne
crossfingers.gif

#2 Jill

Jill

Recovering SEO

• Admin
  • 33,004 posts

Posted 19 January 2009 - 01:45 PM

First, it's "alt attribute" not "alt tag" (before chrishirst comes in screaming!) smile.gif

Second, yes, it's fine to use your anchor text in a descriptive alt attribute rather than it being text link. Works basically the same.

#3 anne999

anne999

HR 2

• Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 19 January 2009 - 06:38 PM

QUOTE(Jill @ Jan 19 2009, 01:45 PM) View Post
First, it's "alt attribute" not "alt tag" (before chrishirst comes in screaming!) smile.gif

Second, yes, it's fine to use your anchor text in a descriptive alt attribute rather than it being text link. Works basically the same.

Thanks Jill, I'm still on a steep learning curve. I appreciate the advice.

Anne

#4 Robmuller

Robmuller

HR 3