• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Overkill?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 cwmckinney

cwmckinney

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 December 2008 - 11:30 AM

Hi, I've been working on SEO-related projects for about 8 months now and haven't had the opportunity to take any kind of formal training, so please be warned that this question is largely the product of inexperience.

Anyway, I work for an established, decent sized e-commerce site (1600+ pages, most of them products) that, thanks to a tough couple of years, now has fewer than 6 employees. The owner and myself are currently the only two people even working on the actual site. As a result, all of our keyword research has been left entirely to me.

I have access to and use what seems to be the "big three" in keyword research: Wordtracker, Keyword Discovery, and AdWords. I understand that it's impossible for any of these tools to even approach 100% accuracy (and some of the results I get from all of them seem "glitchy" or outright insane in any case), which is why I've been trying to use all three simultaneously to build a sort of holistic picture of search trends.

So, I run similar searches in KD, WT, and AdWords then combine them in a single spreadsheet. When a particular keyword appears in more than one tool, I copy over the information so the columns are alongside each other (IE: AdWords Avg. Search/mo. alongside the WT and KD search results). If a keyword appears in one tool but not the others, I go back and look for it in those tools in case I missed it. I use the final product to narrow down my keyword list and go from there.