• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Unique Urls

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
86 replies to this topic

#1 bdtech1

bdtech1

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 01 November 2007 - 10:37 PM

Hi

I am new to SEO and I am getting mixed opinions regarding unique URLs. Our website is currently using pre-determined URLs that are generated through our web server.

My question is how important is creating unique URLs for all web pages on our site. Since we are using a pre-determined URL would it be beneficial to add our keywords or product detail to the end of the URL?

Thanks for all of the advice.

Beth

#2 qwerty

qwerty

HR 10

• 8,695 posts

Posted 01 November 2007 - 10:42 PM

Welcome to HR, Beth hi.gif

Whether you put keywords into the URLs or not, they have to be unique. If you save one document with the exact URL of another, it's just going to overwrite the older page.

That being said, there is apparently some benefit in having keywords in the URL, but I don't think it's much. If you can get your server to automatically generate URLs that happen to include a keyword or two, I'd say it's worth doing for new pages, but not to rename older pages that are already indexed.

#3 bdtech1

bdtech1

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 01 November 2007 - 10:58 PM

QUOTE(qwerty @ Nov 1 2007, 10:42 PM) View Post
Welcome to HR, Beth hi.gif

Whether you put keywords into the URLs or not, they have to be unique. If you save one document with the exact URL of another, it's just going to overwrite the older page.