Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?
Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE!

www.CustomReportSharing.com
From the folks who brought you High Rankings!
More SEO Content
Always A Down-side - The Abuse Of Your Brand
#1
Posted 15 January 2004 - 11:44 AM
http://www.stigmergi...ms.com/seoexpo/
(found out about this through a thread at Cre8asite)
Thought you should be aware of this one.
#2
Posted 15 January 2004 - 11:53 AM
#3
Posted 15 January 2004 - 12:31 PM
#4
Posted 15 January 2004 - 12:34 PM
All the branding and artwork of some great resources is being ripped off, scammed, and an attempt made at legitimicy.
Presumably, the general idea is that people think this site is a type of umbrella organisation to which the great sites on the web defer to. BAH!
McFox
#5
Posted 15 January 2004 - 12:36 PM
Read the thread that Grumpus posted a link to for more info. I'll be honest, I don't entirely "get" the concept but I don't think Peter's trying to scam...
#6
Posted 15 January 2004 - 01:09 PM
I did read the thread Grumpus posted. I also read the thread Black Knight, from Cre8asite posted too, where he says:Read the thread that Grumpus posted a link to for more info. I'll be honest, I don't entirely "get" the concept but I don't think Peter's trying to scam...
You've used my site, my images, and my brand without permission. You've used it to point to lots of other places, potentially to the detriment of my own business
This tells me that at least one of the sites he has used is completely without permission.
A lot is said on this forum about producing your own material for websites and much is made about websites that don't. This explains why it takes me a whole day to write and produce one original page of work.
If I use the method employed on the site in question, I could knock out whole sites in a day. Just gets under my skin.
McFox
#7
Posted 15 January 2004 - 01:15 PM
Ammon's point though - the method chosen to allow us to see all of this in action, is a bit sketchy. I don't believe the intention was to do this at all, but the end result is the same.
G.
#8
Posted 15 January 2004 - 02:02 PM
In the meantime, it is using all your artworks, site work, and just to add insult to injury, using your bandwidth to do it!
The absolute worst part of it as far as I am concerned is how it presents one of the links. Unless you know you are not on the site clicked, you will think you have been redirected there. This one is for Macanerin. The rest are the same.

The top half of the picture is all on the bandwidth of macanerin.com, yet all the information presented in the bottom section is courtesy of stig{whatever}.
#9
Posted 15 January 2004 - 08:17 PM
Obviously, Peter isn't trying to scam anyone or he certainly wouldn't be posting in here telling us about his "scam."
That said, I have never been very interested in the concept, as I don't get it either. Plus, I don't like my site being listed with other people's who I really don't feel deserve the same "status" as SEOs.
(I just got home from traveling and haven't checked the latest incarnation...it may be better, or different than the last time I checked, but I'm in no hurry to check it since I've never been very excited by the concept to begin with.)
Jill
#10
Posted 16 January 2004 - 10:26 AM
I haven't looked at it in awhile, but isn't it just using the our pages in a frame? Kinda like when there's a link to your site in About.com?
No, your page is the "about.com" frame and the content is a set of links to other pages within the system. It appears as if "your site" is endorsing the sites/links in the bottom frame. A quick check shows that, in fact, there is usually a link from (the proverbial) your site to the "recomendations", but in the case of the forums here, links can be posted by someone else, and I'm sure there are links here that (the Jill Whalen) you wouldn't specifically endorse nor want your name attached to. It also looks like links from sites you link to (i.e. second level links) may also be treated as an endoresement by you, but I didn't look through it all in that much depth.
As I say, I don't think Peter intended to cause a problem or issue, but a stranger walking in there that didn't know what was going on may wonder, become confused, and it definitely takes the control of your brand out of your own hands.
G.
#11
Posted 16 January 2004 - 10:34 AM
I definitely DON'T like it. And in fact, I will ask Peter to remove my site asap. I most definitely don't like the fact that it appears as if that's actually MY info showing up, when it's pretty much the opposite of what I would put on my site (and the opposite of what I DO put on my site).
Jill
#12
Posted 16 January 2004 - 11:47 AM
#13
Posted 16 January 2004 - 10:00 PM
I don't think it's so much the concept he's trying to illustrate, but the fact that he's made it look like your site with data that you endorse ... and all without permission.
I could be wrong, but I don't particularly get the idea that Peter is trying to pull a fast one but, while he may pooh-pooh the disagreements with his system (I get the idea that he thinks some of us are not "advanced" or clever enough to see the "brilliance" of his system), he completely disregards the legalities of how he's implemented it even when these have been explained to him directly.
Aside from some comments that mainly go to usability issues, no one has argued against his system; the only real arguments have been against the usage of others' trademarks, copyrights, names, etc. without permission -- along with the inclusion of what appear to be his opinions stated as if they were the others', which is clearly misrepresentation. Peter argued at cre8 that he had mentioned the system and gotten no disagreement, and somehow has equated *that* to specific permission from specific people. I suspect he needs to get a grasp of the legal definitions of "permission". As far as I can see, he risks damaging the reputations and business prospects of others without any legal ground to stand on himself. Worse, he's been notified of this, but apparently has failed to take action; instead he argues that we just don't understand the system.
Therefore, whether he intended to misrepresent others, or intended to do harm, the ball is in his court as to taking steps to fix what he's done. That would demonstrate honesty, integrity and good faith intention.
Edited by DianeV, 16 January 2004 - 10:05 PM.
#14
Posted 17 January 2004 - 02:49 AM
Quite why anyone would wish to direct people away from their website to what is, to all intents and purposes, a competitor, is a concept which is self defeating.
When I visited the stigmergic website and clicked on one of the names, such as our good patron, Jill's, HighRankings.com, or Ian's, Mcanerin Network, I was horrified and I do not use the term lightly. Stigmergic has simply used the headers of the sites in question and superimposed stigmergic rubbish underneath using frames.
Total brand dilution and very damaging to a hard-earned public reputation!
McFox
#15
Posted 17 January 2004 - 11:40 AM
I immediately emailed Peter to remove me from his test site after seeing it.
Jill
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users








