Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!


Sponsored Content

 

 
 

Photo

Does Anybody Know The Story On These Directories?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 marybetht

marybetht

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted 04 January 2004 - 07:40 PM

I've noticed quite a few hits to a few of my sites from these directories. They all seem related, I'm just wondering who's behind them. Sorry if this has already been asked...here's a few links...

www.car-parts-place.com/

www.forgotten-treasure.com/

www.oldrarethings.com/

Thanks, Mary Beth

Edited by scottiecl, 04 January 2004 - 07:58 PM.


#2 Scottie

Scottie

    Psycho Mom

  • Admin
  • 6,294 posts
  • Location:Columbia, SC

Posted 04 January 2004 - 08:00 PM

Hi Mary Beth-

I de-linked those... don't know anything about them at this point but I don't like the look of them! All are interlinked together.

#3 t49

t49

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Location:Right of Centre

Posted 04 January 2004 - 08:02 PM

There are thousands,if not tens of thousands,of search engines,directories,and portals. Many have their own spiders/robots,and some just use DMOZ listings. If you want to find out who the registered owner(s) is/are,just check 'whois'. Look at your ISPs home page for a link.'Whois' is not a website. It is a piece of software that checks with whatever registrar,it has been programmed to check.
or ... just click here.

Tom

#4 marybetht

marybetht

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted 04 January 2004 - 08:07 PM

Scottie,

Sorry for the links, I wasn't sure if I should link or not. Tom, I'll check whois I didn't even think about that.

I'm not complaining about these directories, because I'm getting lots of hits from them, if some of the hits convert to sales, that's great!

Mary Beth

#5 marybetht

marybetht

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted 04 January 2004 - 08:11 PM

Naturally they are "private" registrations. No big deal, just wondering who's behind them, they have a bunch of pages from my ecomm site in their database.

MB

#6 Jill

Jill

    High Rankings Advisor

  • Admin
  • 32,325 posts

Posted 04 January 2004 - 08:34 PM

Are you sure they're not just log spam? It might look like you're getting hits, because they show up in your logs. Do you actually have a link somewhere on those pages?

Jill

#7 marybetht

marybetht

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted 04 January 2004 - 09:06 PM

Jill,

I didn't know there was such a thing as log spam, how's it work?

I do have links on their pages, includes our store name and the name of the product. Each product name has a button next to it that says "more info," click on that button it takes you to the product page. I checked the code and there is an actual hmtl link to our product page.

MB

Edited by marybetht, 04 January 2004 - 09:27 PM.


#8 Scottie

Scottie

    Psycho Mom

  • Admin
  • 6,294 posts
  • Location:Columbia, SC

Posted 04 January 2004 - 10:10 PM

Log spam is where an automated program hits your site, making it look like a specific site is sending you traffic.

#9 marybetht

marybetht

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted 04 January 2004 - 10:33 PM

Scottie,
What's the purpose of that? :lmao:

Thanks, MB

#10 Jill

Jill

    High Rankings Advisor

  • Admin
  • 32,325 posts

Posted 04 January 2004 - 11:16 PM

To get you to visit their site, for one reason (cuz you want to see if they linked to you), and because many people's logs are online, and they get a link.

Jill

#11 CGJ

CGJ

    HR 2

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY

Posted 04 January 2004 - 11:43 PM

And don't forget email bots indexing email address from pages, :lmao:
CGJ

#12 marybetht

marybetht

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted 05 January 2004 - 11:21 AM

To get you to visit their site, for one reason (cuz you want to see if they linked to you), and because many people's logs are online, and they get a link.



Ok, thanks for explaining, learned something new.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users