• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

The Tricks People Use.....

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
2 replies to this topic

#1 deborah2002

deborah2002

HR 4

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 244 posts

Posted 05 August 2003 - 02:40 PM

Just thought I'd share a semi-horror story...
A little less than a year ago, my company hired out for SEO. They found this "famous" guy who would do it for xx thousand dollars. Well, at this point, I was still quite the novice and trying to learn from his work.
I had happened upon the term "hidden text". Again, being a newbie, I started checking related sites for this (it was new to me so this was considered fun at the time).
Just for fun, I checked our site and guess what? Mr.Wonderful had put it on our site. I called him up and asked him what it was. He never completely answered me, just said he'd done it on "hundreds of sites before and it worked for them."
I innocently asked if this was considered hidden text (even at that point I knew it was). He said no, that it wasn't white like the background, it was BEIGE.
Now, first off, I know what beige is and that wasn't beige. I also know it couldn't be seen unless the page was highlighted. Then he said it was light yellow. HMMMMMM......so #fffff is yellow now?

This story actually has a happy ending.....he got fired and yours truly got the job!

Anyone else have horror/success stories?

Just thought this'd start a fun thread--ALL of us have stories like this!

deb

#2 Mel

Mel

HR 5

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 353 posts

Posted 05 August 2003 - 03:05 PM

Probably all of us have run into this scenario: