• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Pepper'in The Footer

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 Drew-z

Drew-z

HR 3

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts

Posted 04 August 2003 - 01:27 PM

I am pretty sure I already know the answer, but here it goes anyway since I have seen this done successfully on high ranking sites

:cheers:

As a web designer, I put a link to my company site discretely at the bottom of pages I build. I have discussed this as sound in other forums with a small amount of debate.

The dilemma is that it can be taken a bit further. Specifically, with code that reads as such:

<a href='index.com'>Company Name</a> <a href='mysite/webdesign.com>Web Design</a> and <a href='mysite/seo.com'>search optimization</a>

The appropriate part of the company description does point to the appropriate page, thus making it seem ethical.

However, I am obviously also doing this to get links to subsidiary pages as well as well as the index.

Is this ethical and a prudent SEO tactic for generating incoming links?

#2 Bernard

Bernard

HR 5

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts

Posted 04 August 2003 - 02:03 PM

From a business owner's point of view, I would not like your fingerprints all over my site. Am I paying you to advertise yourself on my site???

I don't mind a discrete advertisement/link on a links page or so, but multiple links on every page? That's more than I would tolerate as a client.

#3 qwerty

qwerty

HR 10

• 8,625 posts

Posted 04 August 2003 - 02:11 PM