• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Url Manipulation

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 mati

mati

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 04 August 2003 - 12:51 AM

I need some help in understanding the use of "url manipulation". I'm not a web designer/SEO by trade, just own an online ecommerce website and also a newsletter sub of "High Rankings". Thanks Jill for putting this forum together. :D

Will try to make this brief and to the point-

Recently moved/re-designed my website to a dynamic type of web design/storefront solution. Since my site has been moved, I've started to notice within Google's SE results two different url addresses going to the same page for same the same keyword phrase. I spoke with my designer about and my site has a product list page with one url address and then each product page has a url address. She then explained to me that the technique being used (I guess it's a technique...please forgive my lack of proper wording) is "url manipulation" and referred me to this link- http://www.xde.net/x...eb/qx/index.htm. The product list page has the more friendly SE url addresses.

Question(s)

Could this be a problem? Any other feedback is also appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

#2 ukseo

ukseo

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 August 2003 - 03:15 AM

If you have two URL that are filled with content from one page you could be headng towords problems as you essentially haev duplicate content.
If I am correct you have dynamic site with a url like:

sitename.com/product.asp?id=2

and you have used QXASP to rewrite that so that the url can be written as

sitename.com/product/2/ or similar