Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!


Sponsored Content

 

 
 

Photo
- - - - -

Clever Link Building Request


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Think Web

Think Web

    Our Anti-Moron™ software comes in many flavors!

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location:Canton, Ohio

Posted 23 October 2003 - 03:40 PM

I just received the following email:

I just searched in Google for  christian dating services and found www.finders-seekers.com ranked 8. I have a related website about Personals that's purely informational (so I'm NOT a competitor of yours) and I'd like to link to your site.

I consider my site to be one of the best resources for this type of information. I get a decent amount of visitors to it so if I link to you, your site should get some decent traffic from it.

I only link to good quality sites... I think you'll find my site to be high quality as well. In exchange, I would ask that you also link to my site. I've already linked to you and will keep it there for a few days until I hear from you. Please let me know asap if you're interested and i'll send you my information.

Thanks!



Angela Palmer

[Deleted contact info. - Jill]


Hmm...
Here's a break-down of the evidence...

Edited by Jill, 23 October 2003 - 04:16 PM.


#2 qwerty

qwerty

    HR 10

  • Moderator
  • 8,287 posts
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 23 October 2003 - 03:55 PM

I got that email from Angela too. I guess we have to assume that the domain her email address is from is not the site she's talking about, because it's not about SEO or dating.

There's a very easy way to see that this email is just automatically generated: there's an extra space between "for" and "christian". That's not always the case with these things, and of course it's possible for someone typing it out to accidentally enter a space, but I've seen that extra space in that same spot at least a hundred times.

The real kicker, though, is that she tells you she's already linked to you, but doesn't tell you where the link is. If they don't give you the URL of the site you're supposed to link to, forget it.

<added>Aha, your link to the evidence goes even further than mine does.

#3 Debra

Debra

    HR 7

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • Location:Williamsburg, Virginia

Posted 23 October 2003 - 03:57 PM

Hey Craig -

Flattery will get you everywhere eh?

#4 Debra

Debra

    HR 7

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • Location:Williamsburg, Virginia

Posted 23 October 2003 - 04:12 PM

One other thing - just as a funny

If you research the dot com in her email address, you're taken here. "http://www.racsystem.com" Click on the resume link.

Ran a search on the name of the company she professes to work for, Ingenuity Design Solutions and low and behold look where it leads....

"http://www.jobbankus...etemplate.html"

A made up person with a made up resume. Imagine that!

A spam stumper!

#5 qwerty

qwerty

    HR 10

  • Moderator
  • 8,287 posts
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 23 October 2003 - 04:19 PM

:lol: She also says she's about to finish her BA in English. I hope English majors are not being allowed to get away with a sentence like this:

I work as a human editor for a search directory, I also do some web design work and freelance writing in my free time, I hope you enjoy my site!

I really hope they're still teaching that a comma is not the same thing as a period.

#6 Debra

Debra

    HR 7

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • Location:Williamsburg, Virginia

Posted 23 October 2003 - 04:20 PM

I work as a human editor for a search directory, I also do some web design work and freelance writing in my free time, I hope you enjoy my site!


Bet it's Looksmart....... ! :lol:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users