Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!


Sponsored Content

 

 
 

Photo
- - - - -

Buying A Link


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 debs2830

debs2830

    HR 1

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 11:36 AM

I was offered to buy a link on a website that is pageranked at 6, well indexed by google, by msn, but only has their home page indexed on yahoo.

What does that mean?

#2 Jill

Jill

    High Rankings Advisor

  • Admin
  • 32,325 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 12:24 PM

QUOTE
What does that mean?


It means just what you said.

#3 Shane

Shane

    HR 6

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 850 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA

Posted 23 June 2005 - 01:04 PM

If the homepage is a PR6, has links from its homepage to other pages on its site, and has only one page indexed in Yahoo, I'd be very suspicious. How did it get such prominence in Google and MSN without getting more than just the homepage indexed in Yahoo?

Of course, there are also very simple explanations, too (maybe you didn't search correctly in Yahoo). So we'd need more to go on and exactly what you're wanting to know.

#4 Haystack

Haystack

    HR 7

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,980 posts
  • Location:Minneapolis, MN

Posted 23 June 2005 - 01:08 PM

I'd stay away from buying something you don't currently understand.

#5 debs2830

debs2830

    HR 1

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 02:22 PM

I used the marketleap.com tool to check the sites search engine saturation.

This site is relevant to mine. Can it hurt my yahoo ranking to have a text link on his site?

#6 Haystack

Haystack

    HR 7

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,980 posts
  • Location:Minneapolis, MN

Posted 23 June 2005 - 02:44 PM

No.

#7 lorien1973

lorien1973

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 02:44 PM

How did the site approach you? Random emails about buying links on sites are not really something I'd answer or waste time with? They come and go everyday. I'd do some checking into the site, especially if you know nothing about it or the owner of it.

#8 debs2830

debs2830

    HR 1

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 04:20 PM

No, I got their name from a link broker.

#9 rohgan03

rohgan03

    HR 6

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 944 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 04:50 PM

Make sure the link sends you real traffic ...otherwise dont buy it

#10 dejaone

dejaone

    HR 2

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 08:15 PM

nothing wrong with the site. Yahoo does a major index update about every three months. But it picks up the homepage of a new site pretty quickly

#11 Jill

Jill

    High Rankings Advisor

  • Admin
  • 32,325 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 10:22 PM

Regardless of anything else that anyone might say, a link pointing to yours can't hurt you.

This is assuming you're not linking back. If they're just linking to you, then don't worry about it.

#12 Debra

Debra

    HR 7

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • Location:Williamsburg, Virginia

Posted 23 June 2005 - 10:49 PM

QUOTE
Yahoo does a major index update about every three months. But it picks up the homepage of a new site pretty quickly


But if Google is showing a PageRank score of 6 and it's indexed in MSN, it's probably NOT a new site.

I think it was a good question!

#13 sufyaaan

sufyaaan

    HR 3

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 24 June 2005 - 02:50 AM

QUOTE(debs2830 @ Jun 23 2005, 10:36 PM)
I was offered to buy a link on a website that is pageranked at 6, well indexed by google, by msn, but only has their home page indexed on yahoo.
View Post


I think that the website is penalized by Y! for one thing or the other! huh.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users