• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo

What Is The /robot.txt And How Is It Used?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 Webseeker

Webseeker

HR 3

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts

Posted 12 June 2005 - 01:56 AM

I was doing some reading and came across the talk of the /robot.txt after an URL.

What is this and how is it used? I recall doing a search of my domain using that after my URL and nothing came up.

Is it something I need to be using or installing at my site?

Could someone explain or point me in the right direction so I can understand this more thoroughly?

I am new at this whole SEO. I'm the SEO expert in my business. LOL! My webdesigner doesn't know a thing about it. In fact, I had to tell him to install keywords, meta description, titles... everything! ... so your help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Webseeker

#2 robwatts

robwatts

HR 5

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 308 posts

Posted 12 June 2005 - 03:07 AM

Hi webseeker

Basically its a text file that is used to tell robots how you would like them to behave on your site.

When a spider/bot visits your domain it will usually requuest a robots.txt file. This can tell the bot what it can and cannot touch.

You can restrict files and directories, block some agents and allow others.

Its not mandatory, and not all bots are robot.txt compliant.

You'd need to create one in a text editor and upload it to your domains root directory. Be sure that it is syntactically correct or you could find yourself inadvertantly blocking robots.

This query has some handy resources

Welcome to HR smile.gif

#3 Webseeker

Webseeker

HR 3

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts

Posted 12 June 2005 - 08:52 AM

Hello robwatts,